Chicken Curry (Special Recipe)

Hi uolls,

There are many variations of “chicken curry” in Singapore. Chinese, Malay, Nyonya and Indian style. Curry chicken with potatoes is the most common chicken curry in Singapore. Everywhere you go where curries are served, you will find this type of chicken curry.

I often make chicken curry for my family and I love serving it with roti jala (lace crepes) Got this special recipe from mama but I improvised it a little. It’s more like a family tradition recipe. But I’m more than happy to share it with you.

Just made some chicken curry tonight. Prepared it early so I can make some roti jala tomorrow morning for my husband’s breakfast when he comes home from his night shift. Somehow, I made it top priority to cook for my kids and husband homecooked meals even if I’m sick or busy with my daily stuffs. The feeling of watching my kids and husband enjoying the meals I cooked for them, is indescribable. Family meals are very important to our family, we bond over food. And breakfast is nicely planned for tomorrow, and I can’t wait for morning! So, it’s chicken curry with roti jala.

Do take note that the recipe that I’m going to share later, it’s rich in taste, this rich aromatic curry is all that you want to satisfy your soul with good combination of roti jala!

Do click the link to watch the video below :

Recipe : Chicken Curry

Ingredients :

  • 2 lemongrass – bruised
  • 1 cinnamon stick, 2 star anise, 4 cloves & 4 cardamom pods
  • Whole chicken – cut 8 pieces (half fried)
  • 200 ml water
  • 2 tsp pink salt (you can go ahead with normal salt, it’s fine)
  • 2 carrots – cut into 1 inch chunks
  • 3 potatoes – cut into large, even-shaped chunks
  • Curry leaves / Lime leaves
  • 5 tbsp curry powder (meat)
  • 400 ml coconut milk (or you can use fresh milk)
  • 1 cup evaporated milk
  • 100 gm toasted coconut paste (kelapa kerisik)

Paste :

  • 5 lime leaves
  • 12 cloves garlics
  • 3 bulb onions
  • 1.5 inch ginger
  • 6 red chillies
  • 20 dried chillies

Note : In a food processor, blend PASTE ingredients to a fine paste.

In a large pot, heat up the oil over medium heat and fry the cinnamon, star anise, cloves, cardamom pods and lemongrass for fragrant for about 1 min.

Add in the paste and fry till the mixture is a little dry.

Add in the curry powder, stir for a little bit before adding in the toasted coconut paste.

Stir often and make sure the paste does not burn.

Add in water and stir for awhile. Season it with salt before adding the coconut milk. Let it simmer for awhile and add the carrots, potatoes and chicken. Cover and let it boil at a lower heat for about 15 mins.

Once your chicken, carrots and potatoes are cooked, add the curry and lime leaves.

Serve it hot, top your roti jala with this awesome chicken curry.

The secret ingredients to this recipe is the toasted coconut paste (kelapa kerisik) and the lime leaves grinded together with other paste ingredients.

This is my husband’s favorite!

Happy trying, uolls!

You can also find recipes at : https://www.youtube.com/user/TheLisaaris

 

Leave a comment