Ohsem Sambal Udang Petai(Prawn Sambal with Stinky Beans)

Hi uolls,

Today I’m going to share 1 family recipe from my mama. It’s Sambal Udang Petai (Prawn Sambal with Stinky Beans). This dish is a much celebrated recipe in my family and everyone loves it! My mama made made a killer dish of sambal udang, and everyone love it, It was always the most popular dish on my family’s dining table during Eid. Whenever she made sambal udang, everyone would be waiting in anticipation for a great meal.

Sambal udang is quite easy to make and you need only a few key ingredients – prawns, sambal, belacan, toasted coconut paste and petai! In our family, we use toasted coconut paste to infuse the sambal udang with it’s exotic and spicy flavor, it also adds a lot of depth and aroma to this dish. I love my sambal udang with petai, and I remember the after smell of eating petai. Personally, I’m not a fan of petai but I like my sambal udang this way, with plenty of prawns and the right balance of spicy, sour, salty and a tint of sweetness from the freshness of prawns.

Sambal udang is great with steamed white rice. In fact, the sambal sauce is so good, I can drench dollops of it with rice and eat it plain. It’s really appetizing and the prawns are simply delicious.

Here’s my family recipe of sambal udang. Try it!

Do click the link to watch the video below :

Recipe :

  • 1 kg fresh prawns – deshelled or according to your preference
  • 200 gm petai (stinky beans) – cut to halves
  • 100 gm toasted coconut paste (kelapa kerisik)
  • 1.5 tsp salt
  • 10-15 gm palm sugar
  • 50 ml tamarind juice (tamarind slice)
  • 100 ml water (optional)

Paste :

  • 40 dried chillies – cut finely, washed, soaked in hot water
  • 8 cloves garlic
  • 2 medium size onion
  • 1 inch belacan (shrimp paste)

Note : In a food processor, blend PASTE ingredients to a fine paste.

In a large pan, heat up the oil over medium heat.

Add PASTE, mix well and stir-fry until the mixture is cooked and fragrant.

Then add toasted coconut paste, tamarind slice (or juice) and palm sugar.

Continue to stir-fry for about 5 mins and add salt.

Add in water, bringing it to a quick boil when the prawns are cooked, add petai.

Dish out and serve it hot.

Try it and let me know what you think!

You can also find recipes at : https://www.youtube.com/user/TheLisaaris

Leave a comment